No. The law requiring these tests was abolished on October 1, 1986.
Show All Answers
Yes, unless the parents are divorced and the custody and control are placed in one parent, then only the parent having such custody and control shall be required to give the written consent. All written consents must be acknowledged (notarized). If the parents have been granted shared parental responsibility, both parents must sign.
Yes. There is a three day waiting period if either of the parties to the marriage is residents of Florida. This waiting period will be waived if both parties provide proof of having received premarital counseling from a provider who has been approved by the Clerk of the Circuit Court for Polk County. View the premarital course provider directory for approved providers. Couples who provide proof of having completed premarital counseling may obtain a marriage license and be married the same day.
Check the premarital course providers directory.
No, a marriage license may be applied for and solemnized in any Florida county.
The marriage must be solemnized within 60 days of issuance of the Marriage License. The ceremony can be performed anywhere in the State of Florida.
He/she is a minister who has been recognized in the manner required by the regulations of the respective denomination to perform marriage ceremonies.
No, Section 741.08 F.S. states that the party solemnizing the marriage shall require a properly issued license before performing the ceremony.
A marriage cannot be officially recorded until the license is returned to the Clerk. It should be returned within 10 days after the wedding. The party who performed the marriage is responsible for returning the completed license.
Yes. Deputy Clerks are authorized and available during normal working hours to perform marriage ceremonies. The fee for this service is determined by Florida Statute and is available on the Fees page.
The fee for a marriage license is listed in the service fee schedule.
No, payment for marriage licenses must be made by cash or credit card.
This online service enables customers to begin the process of applying for their marriage license, saving them time when visiting the Clerk’s office. Once the online application is submitted, the applicants will need to appear in person to complete the process. The information will be pending with the Clerk’s office until such time. After 90 days, the applicants’ information will expire from the system if no license is issued and the application process will need to start again. Visit our contact page to find the nearest location.
Any applicants who meet the requirements under Florida Law may use the online marriage application to begin the process. For non-US citizens, the Social Security Number field must be filled out with the proof of identification number. For example, if using a passport as proof of identification, enter the passport number into the Social Security Number field.
The collection of social security numbers is required per Florida Statute 741.04. The applicant’s information is securely reported to the Bureau of Vital Statistics.
Once the applicants submit the application, a confirmation number will be provided. Both applicants will need to appear in person within 90 days to complete the process. Bring the valid ID entered in the application and the confirmation number to any of our three locations. Before arriving, both applicants must read the Marriage Handbook located on the Clerk’s website.
Call 863-534-4000 if you find an error on your marriage license. Also, if the license was issued prior to January 31, 2007, there will be a 24-hour timeframe before the couple can come in to the office to amend their license. There is a fee to amend a marriage license, which varies due to several factors. Contact our office for details about your particular case.